top of page

HOW I “SURVIVED” BEING AN ONLINE PA IN THE SALC /SALCのオンラインPAをどうやって乗り切ったか

更新日:2021年6月29日



I started the position of Peer Advisor (PA) in the SALC in Fall Semester of 2020 and I have just finished my first working semester here. No matter how much experience I had before as an English TA or in the Writing Center and with attending online classes, doing online SALC was a real challenge for me. However, by the end of the semester I managed to understand the system, establish my own advising style, and had great time with students. This blog has some tips that I learned in the last four months in the SALC to enjoy working online.

Always be prepared

This is a tip I learned for the first time from a course in APU in which my professor required his students to read all material and listen to the lecture video in advance, the actual class is only for discussion about the prepared content. This is called a “flipped classroom”, students self-study first and the discussion is carried out by the teacher. The mentality of preparing material and questions before the class worked out very well when I applied it in the SALC. When I first started working, I was nervous about how to help students, so I always checked the reservation system in advance and went over all the related material, I even prepared for the flow of the session, the possible questions that students could ask, and my answers for those. Students should also prepare in a similar way before SALC sessions to make the most of the session with the PA.

Bring extra energy but also a relaxing space

Attending online classes or working online in the SALC can drain our energy over time. Therefore, establishing a healthy working mentality and creating a physical working space is very important. I am a lively and expressive person myself so being online only was difficult for me. To solve this problem, I tried to express my energy more clearly, via my intonation, and facial expression. Sometimes I included visual aids in the background when talking with students to make our conversations lively. This, however, leads to the exhaustion of energy easily once I have long shifts and classes together. Therefore, I created a very comfortable workspace that can help me to recharge. I put a lot of plants in my room, my desk is close to the large window that is full of natural sunlight, I always have tea or water by my side. Those small things are very magical.

Deepen the conversation

I am keen on getting to know a person by talking with them. I really enjoy communicating with students by asking them questions that I consider crucial to everyone: what makes them happy, what is their dream, what are the struggles that they are going through. The awkwardness is obviously there at the beginning and it takes time and sensitivity to get the other person comfortable enough to talk to you openly. One of the most important things that I learn from this is every single student that I meet is an important person, and has great stories to be listened to, I am not there to teach them, I am there to listen to them. The SALC has given me a lot of time to talk with students besides assisting in their learning process and this has been great for me to get to know them.

The online situation might keep going in the unforeseeable future, but we are in control of how we face it. I believe the efforts that we make by ourselves can improve the online environment. The online SALC has been a great opportunity for me to practice and reflect on.

 

私は2020年の秋学期からSALCのピア・アドバイザー(PA)の職に就き、最初の勤務学期を終えたところです。英語のTAやライティングセンターでの経験、オンラインクラスへの参加など、いくら経験があったとしても、オンラインSALCを行うことは私にとって本当の挑戦でした。しかし、学期末にはシステムを理解し、自分なりのアドバイスのスタイルを確立し、学生と楽しい時間を過ごすことができました。このブログでは、SALCでのこの4ヶ月間で学んだ、オンラインでの仕事を楽しむためのヒントを紹介します。

常に準備を怠らない

これは、私がAPUの授業で初めて知ったことですが、教授は学生に事前にすべての資料を読み、講義ビデオを聴くことを要求し、実際の授業では準備した内容についての議論のみを行うというものでした。これは「反転授業」と呼ばれるもので、学生はまず自習し、議論は教師が行うというものです。授業の前に資料や質問を用意しておくという考え方は、SALCで実践してみると非常にうまくいきました。仕事を始めたばかりの頃は、どうやって生徒をサポートすればいいのか不安だったので、必ず事前に予約システムを確認し、関連資料に目を通し、セッションの流れや生徒からの質問の可能性、それに対する私の回答まで準備していました。学生の皆さんも、SALCのセッションの前に同じような準備をしておくと、PAとのセッションを最大限に楽しむことができます。


活気があるだけでなく、リラックスできる空間を

SALCでオンラインクラスに出席したり、オンラインで仕事をしたりすると、時間の経過とともにエネルギーを消耗してしまいます。そのため、健康的に働くメンタリティを確立し、物理的な作業スペースを作ることがとても重要です。私自身、活発で表現力豊かな人間なので、オンラインだけの生活は困難でした。この問題を解決するために、私は自分のエネルギーをイントネーションや顔の表情でより明確に表現するようにしました。また、生徒との会話では、背景に映像を使って会話を盛り上げることもありました。しかし、これでは長時間の勤務や授業が重なると、すぐに体力を消耗してしまいます。そこで、私は自分が充電できるような、とても快適なワークスペースを作りました。部屋にはたくさんの植物を置き、デスクは自然光が差し込む大きな窓の近くに置き、そばにはいつもお茶や水を置いています。そういった小さなことがとても不思議な力があります。


会話を深める

私は、人と話すことでその人のことを知りたいと思っています。学生とのコミュニケーションを楽しむために、私は誰にとっても重要だと思われる質問をしています。最初のうちは、当然ながらぎこちなさがあり、相手が自分と率直に話し合えるようになるには、時間と感性が必要です。ここで学んだ最も重要なことのひとつは、私が出会う学生は誰もが重要な人物であり、聞くべき素晴らしい話を持っているということです。私は彼らに教えるために存在しているのではなく、彼らの話を聞くために存在しているのです。SALCでは、学生の学習プロセスをサポートする以外にも、学生と話す時間を多く設けてくれているので、学生と仲良くなるにはもってこいの環境です。

オンラインの状況は、予測できない将来も続くかもしれませんが、それにどう立ち向かうかは私たちがコントロールできます。私たち自身の努力によって、オンライン環境を改善することができると信じています。 オンラインSALCは、私にとって実践と反省のための素晴らしい機会となりました。

 

Author:

LUU Thi Phuong Thao (Alex) English PA

bottom of page